A beginners nightmare

I thought I’d try and contribute something useful as openhab seems to have a lot of support. So as a newbie I have struggled desperately to get a working demo, now I have one it does nothing? I thought perhaps it would find my ‘hue’ and prompt for some setup data? So I have looked at how I might add ‘hue’ in and I see that I have to edit some awful text file which has no included examples.

So am I missing something really basic? Is there some interface that will hide the configure text file in the background and be really user friendly? Is one being developed because without one 99.9% of people won’t try openhab and without a user base the project is dead.

I know this is negative but here is the chance for a really useful reply that turns things around for everyone like me who is itching to go but falling at every hurdle.

Have you had a look at HABmin? This might help if you’re not keen on editing files manually. HABmin2 is under development but I’m not sure it will work with OpenHAB (as opposed to OpenHAB2).

I had a look at it but in the end opted for the direct editing of config files since I didn’t mind the initial learning curve/effort (or, rather, I failed to find an easier way but wasn’t going to give up quite so easily…).

It took a little while to set up but now my Hue lamps are connected and manageable.

First of all make sure you have the addon file required for hue installed. I recommend running with only the bindings you need rather than everything (I started out with everything but ending up thinning things down to just the addons I needed).