Add openhab2 zwave binding as secondary controller

Hi,
I’m quite new to the topic and experimenting with zwave and openhab now for several weeks.

I’m about to change from openhab 1.8 to openhab 2.
I found in the documentation of openhab 2 the following paragraph (http://docs.openhab.org/addons/bindings/zwave/readme.html)

Joining as a secondary controller

The binding can be added to the network as a secondary controller. This can be useful if you already have another home automation system and you want to use the binding as a secondary controller.

This is exactly what I want to do, run openhab as a secondary zwave controller with my existing Devolo Smart Home system. Unfortunately I did not find more information what exactly needs to be done in teh configuration part of openhab to achieve this. I’m using a PI3 with ZWave Stick as platform for openhab.
I already joined my zwave stick to the existing zwave network. But I get only some nodes available in openhab (probably the ones that did already exist at that point in time). If I add new devices to my devolo zwave controller, they do not show up in openhab.
Is there anyone having experience with that or has some hints? I’m especially unsure about configurations like SUC, SIS or property masterController=true/false ?

Thanks
Markus

Hi @mbuchberger1967,

I’m now trying somthing similar, but not yet there as well. I have an existing Zipabox zwave installation which i dont want to touch, as (despite some minor issues) it is in general working fine.

But still I wanted to have current data of my sensors (basically I’m using some wall plugs, some window sensors and some motion/temperature sensors). So today I finally was able to add an Aeotec zwave stick with the OH2 binding to my existing Zipato network.

First of all on the Zipabox all seems to be still working fine - I dont see any issues there.

From an OH2 point of view there are some issues however: