Adding If-else to rule

Hi friends,
I have been running OpenHAB on a Raspberry Pi for almost 2 years and It’s been working great.
I set up a few rules to automatically close and open all my roller-shutters and lights at night and in the morning.

I would now like to add to my Good Morning rule an if-else clause that indicates that if a specific roller-shutter is already partially open before I ran the Good Morning rule, then the rule should skip opening this roller-shutter.

I tried to create this rule, but it didn’t work:

sendCommand(BedRight_Dimmer3, 72)
  Thread::sleep(300)
sendCommand(SalonWindow_Dimmer3, 72)
if {
  (SalonBalcony_Dimmer2 < 50)
}
Else {
  sendCommand(SalonBalcony_Dimmer2, 71)
}
sendCommand(SalonDesk_Dimmer3, 69)
sendCommand(Kitchen_Dimmer
3, 67)
sendCommand(Balcony_Dimmer3, 100)

I was hoping that if the roller-shutter SalonBlinds_Dimmer2 is already set to less than 50% then the open to 71% command will be skipped. And if this dimmer is set to more than 50%, it will be opened to 71%.

I tried to imitate this if-else command from other if-else rules I saw on the community, but I guess I didn’t create the rule correctly, because it doesn’t work.

Can anyone please help me write this command properly?

When you’re copying from other rules you find in the community, make sure to match the syntax. You’ve left out .state and used brackets in the wrong places.

if (item.state < 50)
    {
    command 1
    command 2
    etc.
    }
else if (some other condition)
    {
    commands
    }
else //no conditions
    {
    commands
    }
1 Like

Also, it’s else not Else.

The general concept is: if X then do Y else do Z. That’s what we call pseudo code, it’s not real syntax in any programming language.

So here we have:

• X = SalonBlinds_Dimmer2.state <= 50
  • Y = noop // a fancy way to say do nothing
  • Z = SalonBlinds_Dimmer2.sendCommand(71)