Advice needed for clean slate startup of home automation

So I’m new to home automation and the only device I have so far is an Ecobee thermostat. I have successfully set up openHAB on a Linux box (ubuntu 14.04) and have managed to figure out how to control it via openHAB. So now I am somewhat hooked on home automation and want to start adding hardware. So my question is what hardware platform should I go with? I see that zWave seems very popular and there are multiple manufacturers, so there appears to be some slight price competition. What are my other options and what would be the advantages and disadvantages of them. I am interested in voice control so have looked at the Amazon Echo to openHAB bridge, that looks interesting. I have also done some electronics stuff with arduino’s in the past so that is an option. My main hesitation of going the arduino route is the amount of work involved and my desire to get things going faster with out of the box solutions. I do realize that building my own, on an arduino platform, may be a less expensive option, but that is not necessarily an issue for me. It’s not that cost is no issue, it’s just that I feel my time would be better spent working on software automation programming than building hardware.

So before I start investing in hardware I’d like some opinions on which way to go.

1 Like

I use Z-Wave for thermostats and door locks, Insteon for lighting control, and MODBUS for I/O via Pokeys57E. I am also in the process of adding two BrulTech GEMs for circuit monitoring and hired a developer to write a iPhone location binding and a MOJIO binding to connect my cars to the system.