Alexa and openHAB in Australia

Has anyone done a successful implementation in Australia? Thinking of buying a few of Amazon Echo devices and just want to make sure that it will work.

As far as I can see the “openHAB” Alexa skill is not available in the AU region… :frowning:

Thanks
Alex.

Hi, I’ve been running it for a couple of years now.
First with habridge but now mainly with the Hue Emulation.
For my purposes I found this superior to the skill, although I have also used that.

Given that the hue emulation gives me most of what I want I prefer to keep what is in the cloud to a minimum, so the local nature of the hue emulation is a major plus for me.

Overall I find it works really well with the one main issue being that my name as John sometimes Alexa says can’t find Joan’s Light… and similar things.
I control lights, roller shutters, fans, television, kettle, Roomba and previously my aircon with it, so I am very happy. Just waiting now for a good integration option for my new Daikin AC.

Hope this helps

Thanks John!

Went and bought the Amazon Echo (2nd Gen AU) yesterday. Initial setup of it was flawless, however I am pulling my hair out now trying to integrated with the openHAB.

• Openhab version 2.2 runs on port 8080
  • Hue Emulation 2.2.0 (discovery web port set to 80 and port forward is setup with iptables 80 ==> 8080
  • one switch was tagged as “Switchable” and I can see it in /api/discovery.xml
{"lights":{"1":{"state":{"on":false,"bri":-1,"hue":0,"sat":0,"xy":[0.0,0.0],"ct":500,"alert":"none","effect":"none","colormode":"ct","reachable":true},"type":"Dimmable Light","name":"Kitchen Switch","modelid":"LWB004","uniqueid":"1","manufacturername":"openHAB","swversion":"66009461","pointsymbol":{"1":"none","2":"none","3":"none","4":"none","5":"none","6":"none","7":"none","8":"none"}}}}
  • Amazon Echo is setup on the same subnet as openhab (10.100.100.0/24)
  • UPnP is enabled on the router