Another Dimming example leveraging cron

I have been working on this for a couple of weeks (off an on) after my phone alarm app failed to wake me up three times (as soon as I unplugged my phone and turned on the screen the alarm activated). Most mornings I have no backup to get kids to school on time, I have lamps in OH to ensure their are woke up in time.

So why use cron over the numerous timer rule examples we have; I’ve tried to implement them and never quite fit, and at one point I created a loop with the logic…coming from a heavy self taught linux background I have a better understanding of cron, so just personal preference on my part and sharing for others that might also want to test.

So lets start with my items, I have two Lyfx mini white bulbs in my bedroom and its part of a fan combo, so the fan has to be running for the bulbs to have power/wifi.

Switch  mbedroomlightV45       "Lifx bulb Switches timer"                               { expire="45s,command=OFF" }
Dimmer  mbedroomlightdimV      "Master bedroom dimmer"       { channel="lifx:whitelight:mbedroom1:brightness", channel="lifx:whitelight:mbedroom2:brightness" [profile="follow"] }
Switch  mbedroomlightV         "Lifx bulb Switches"          { channel="lifx:whitelight:mbedroom1:brightness", channel="lifx:whitelight:mbedroom2:brightness" [profile="follow"] }

Pay attention to the end of my channels (yes you read that right I have two channel on the same item) at this point you should take some time and read up on the documentation as I missed this in one of the releases - https://www.openhab.org/docs/configuration/items.html#profiles

First rule:

rule "Natural wakeup expire timer"
when
    Time cron "0 45-59 5 ? * MON,TUE,WED,THU,FRI *" or
    Time cron "0 0-30 6 ? * MON,TUE,WED,THU,FRI *"
then
    mbedroomlightV45.sendCommand(ON)
end