Apache2 on OH3

Hi,
I have made the jump to OH3 in the past few days and I am still battling with it.

I have been using mysql and phpmyadmin for many years with no issues and I would like to continue using them.
I have installed mysql and this workss fine.
I have installed apache2, PHP and phpmyadmin and they all work until the first reboot.
At that point
/var/log/apache2
gets deleted and Apache2 will not start.

Any suggestions?
Thanks

I’m assuming you’re using openHABian which is a debian based Linux distribution.

I would first check the status of Apache and see if the output of the following command points to any errors:

sudo systemctl status apache2

It could also be that Apache is not configured to start at boot (which normally should not be the case on a Debian based distribution, however on a Red Hat based distribution the default is to not start the httpd service if I recall correctly)

sudo systemctl enable apache2

Then do a reboot to see if apache starts up automatically.

Hi,

yes I am using openabian.
The errors I get is what I summariesed earlier (missing log folder)

Dec 27 13:14:34 openHABianDevice systemd[1]: Starting The Apache HTTP Server…
Dec 27 13:20:36 openHABianDevice apachectl[694]: AH00558: apache2: Could not reliably determine the server’s fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.1.1. Set the ‘ServerName’ directive globally to suppress this message
Dec 27 13:20:36 openHABianDevice apachectl[694]: (2)No such file or directory: AH02291: Cannot access directory ‘/var/log/apache2/’ for main error log
Dec 27 13:20:36 openHABianDevice apachectl[694]: (2)No such file or directory: AH02291: Cannot access directory ‘/var/log/apache2/’ for error log of vhost defined at /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-default.conf:1
Dec 27 13:20:36 openHABianDevice apachectl[694]: AH00014: Configuration check failed
Dec 27 13:20:36 openHABianDevice apachectl[694]: Action ‘start’ failed.