Bare-stud remodel - What would you do?

I’m doing a full remodel of the primary floor in my house, including most of the electrical. I’ll be including a whole-home control system in the project. Initially I had planned on doing a structured wiring system, but I worry about the direction of the industry and flexibility of the system in the future. Instead, I’ve decided on using OpenHAB with Z-Wave and Zigbee components. I also have every room wired with at least two drops of cat6 in conduit. I’m a software engineer in robotics, so I have experience with programming and electronics, however I don’t have much experience with home automation, so I don’t know how I could maximize an RF-based system with the opportunity of open walls.

Would any here mind sharing some experienced insight on how to make the most of a new system in this situation?

In my office if the client is certain they want a smart home capable house we will recommend running Cat6 to every switch/light location. This allows for a 12V control system with centralised bank of relay’s if they decide wifi/RF isn’t good enough at the end result. For the cost of a roll of cat6, and time to run it, it’s just not worth risking not doing it.

This is because we’ve had wifi installed smart home systems and the signal quality just wasn’t up to scratch which leads to frustrations, and as the architect, I get it in the ear…

You also have to remember that this home may not be your ‘forever’ home. Not installing any form of manual control could very well limit your capital gain from the property when it goes to sell it. Potential buyers may well be put off from the fact that the lights and general home control system can’t be manually managed. At this point in time most people are not up to speed with home automation management.

There’s obviously more to it than this, but we don’t recommend wireless home automation solutions in our office. We feel the risks are too great that the end result won’t be reliable.