Basic UI SetPoint issue

Hi,

I am new to this OpenHAB and still fumbling a bit, but I have an issue with the Basic UI SetPoint feature.
I have configured my sitemap to contain SetPoints for my 5 MAX! thermostats connected to my MAX! Cube LAN Gateway.
The MAX! Cube LAN gateway communicate with other units in the eco-system using a 868,3 Mhz radio frequency, which has a broadcast usage limit imposed. The limit can read as a duty_cycle value on the cube itself.
The problem is that when the Cube hits 100 in duty_cycle then its banned from broadcasting untill it gets below 100 again.
What I noticed with my Basic UI setup is that the SetPoint feature eats duty_cycles like crazy.
f.ex. if I change a MAX thermostat from automatic to manual mode, then it will default to a SetPoint temperature of 20, but if I want to have it at 17 instead, then I have to click the buttons to get it to 17.
Those steps happens in increments of 0,5 and I end up clicking the button 6 times.
The problem is that each of those 6 clicks sends a command to the Cube that will then send a command out on the 868,3 Mhz band and thereby eat up duty_cycles.
When 5 thermostats have to go through this process the MAX Cube will hit the 100 mark quite fast.

What I would like is a delayed send, so you set your temperature and then you click a new checkmark button that will actually send the temperature.

Hope this makes sense to you.

Yours Wally

Hi,

I’m using Homematic thermostats, developed by the same company. For my thermostats I set

delay = 5,

for the thermostat thing SET_TEMPERATURE channel. This only sends the actual new SET_TEMPERATURE value with the 5 seconds delay, allowing me to change the SET_TEMPERATURE without issuing many temperature changes immediately.

This might also be possible with the MAX! binding. Have a look in the SET TEMPERATURE channel (pencil / edit icon) of your thermostats.

Thanks for the reply, Hans.