Beginner looking for Basement Fan Control Hardware and Dew-Point Calculcation

Hey there,

i am new to OpenHAB but as i am a media technician with some medicore Coding-Skills, i think i’ll find my way through open hub.

Up to now i’ve got some “dumb” and some semi-smart systems around my house (Like automatic cicstern-refill, some AVM/Fritzbox 230V-Plugs).

The problem i am getting in now is i wanna build a Ventilating System for my 60’s humid concrete basement in the old house i bought. There are some systems like maico on the market, but they seem very expensive for that little amount of logic they use. As there are no inhabited rooms in the basement, i don’t need thinks like warmth-recoupling and i may use some pretty simple marley pipe fans (and mybe Filters in the tunnels).

So what do i need? First of all some indoor and one or two outdoor humidy/temperature sensors.
Then some Relais stuff i can talkt to for getting the fans started.

And then i need to get the rules when which fan has to move or not. So i think this might be the right place to use scripts?

I have to calculcate the dew-points from inside sensors (for that single room) and outdoor first, then see if it is useful to start ventilating, then check if it is above a safe minimum temperature. If temp too low or dew point difference not high enough but basement humid is above 70, go and switch on that dryers.

So how to get all of this together? Is that kind of stuff possible? (i think/hope so!)
Which Hardware to choose?
WiFi is available all over the area through mesh. So get some IP Stuff? Or better get on z-Wave and a gateway? Which Sensors are precise and durable? How to Switch the fans? As the whole Basement is surface-mounted, i can put a DIN Relais with IP in the electrics cabinet, i can give them single wifi relais and so on. Even Wired Ethernet is near the electrics cabinet.