Best Light Switch Replacement for Open Source Home Automation System

Hi fine OpenHAB Community :slight_smile:

Im new to OpenHAB and want to automate my room lighting.
Therefor i ask for your advice on replacement light switches.
Features that would be nice to have:
Wifi - Connect to OpenHAB
Bluetooth - Detect presence of smartwatch or phone bluetooth MAC adress
Motion detection
Switch light on off
Powersupply from 250 AC
Wall mount.

Some compatible wifi rgb led lights.

Your advice would be much appreciated.

Many thanks & Best Regards
Valentin

I have used Martin jerry switches they are Wi-Fi. They can be flashed with tasmota.

For motion I use the xiamoi motion connected to a conbee ii. The pair work great together.

Hello and welcome.
Your first choice really should be which type of communication ecosystem are you looking to get into. No one switch will have everything - you’re primarily limited by size, and then trying to shove a number of antennae into an electrical box and hope to get decent signal out.

1)Wifi (if there are lots of devices, you’ll need a router that can handle all the clients, and there is intrinsic vulnerability to outside hacking). 2.5 GHz may work ok, but anything higher will have substantial signal loss through walls. If you also have a multiple access point cisco/unifi-type system, this may end up being scalable to you, but you’ll need to work to ensure you have some protection from hacking/abuse.
There are scores of cheap devices that have been hacked into reasonable devices - notably from sonoff and shelly (including RGB controllers). Flashing them with tasmota helps get rid of the concern of potentially sneaky spyware from the original manufacturers, and also adds a lot of functionality.