Binding Request: RCT Power invertor

Hello,
anyone could create bindig for pv inverter from rct power. I found a php script for this, but for another smart home solution. would it be possible to remake for openhab? It is opening tcp communication and sending hex values and reading hex results and converting to float

thanks

It you are not a developer you can offer a bounty on bountysource to encourage a volunteer developer.

Most if not all inverters run Modbus. If you know the registers/meanings, you can use the Modbus over TCP binding of OH.

modbus not work :confused:

Dear all,

I have a RCT Power Inverter 6.0 and managed to write a very basic python script (likely based on the PHP script mentioned since I took it to reverse engineer) which is reading the most relevant values from the inverter, which I then send to OpenHAB via MQTT. A clean binding however would be awesome for sure. I am not a JAVA developer and have too many IT projects in flow already to start learning to code a binding (now).

RCT unfortunately is using a proprietary format which is not that straight forward as well as the inverter sends its answers to any “poll” requests as multicast, so it is a bit error-prone if you are using the RCT app on Android or iOS in parallel.

Happy to discuss and maybe we find somebody who could help with the binding.

Jens

1 Like

Hi Jens,
mind sharing your script?
I’m looking for a way to integrate a RCT invervter too…

Thanks,
Curlyel

Hi Curlyel,

sorry was a busy week thus responding a bit late. I have pushed my python script to Github: https://github.com/eleven6/rct-power

I still would love someone could write a proper JAVA Binding with the details provided, I simply am not a Java programmer but would be helping in testing, documenting,… if anyone is interested to help all RCT Power 6.0 interver users.