Binding Z-Wave Garage Door Sensor to Garage Door Item

I am brand new to OpenHab, Z-Wave, all of it. I have OpenHab installed and running, I have Habmin and Habmin2 running. I am running it on Windows 7. I have a Aeotec Z-Stick Gen 5 running, I have it talking to a MonoPrice Z-Wave Garage Door Sensor. I am able to see the z-wave bindings to the sensor and everything looks good under ‘Bindings’. I am able to go into my sitemap, drill into a garage group and I have the garage door item listed.

The problem is, I can not link my item to the z-wave node. I can go to the item in habmin, i can go to the bindings tab. However it will not let me enter anything in the config/properties windows. It creates them and lets me type in the values for name and string but it will not save anything. I am also not entirely sure what I should be typing in there. something like zwave=“9:SENSOR_BINARY=11” or something.

Can anyone help me with what I am doing wrong? After 6 hours and I do not have a single device working.

Thanks

It’s been a little while since I’ve used HABmin1, but from memory, once you’ve typed the data into the the box (which sounds like it’s working?) then I think you need to change the tab back to the main device tab and click SAVE (or OK, or whatever it’s called).

Regarding what you type in, I’m not sure - but what you have above is definately wrong. I don’t know what the 11 is, but you probably want something like zwave="9:command=SENSOR_BINARY".

Chris

I tried your command. I do that and click save and a pop up says the item configuration was saved, but if I click on something else and come back it is blank again. I still am not sure of the item itself is configured correctly. I used the demo items as my guide. I could not find any tutorials online for this.

If you have not used habmin1 in a while is there a better way?

Thank you for the command.

Not really - I’m developing HABmin2 at the moment, but this is targeted at OH2…