Can I log messages and info to MySQL?

#Background:
I have been running a basic OpenHAB server for 6 months odd with 5 Lifx Lights and a load of rules to turn on/off the lights depending on who is awake/in/out of the house. We started getting issues with lights randomly coming on/off as the rules got complex and the console logging was/is hard to get enough info to debug (also limited in size and often gone by the time I get time to look) so I have decided to start again but this time logging all of the commands and states into a MySQL DB.

#What I have managed:
I have managed to install and setup a MySQL DB, install the ā€œMySQL Persistanceā€ (persistance-mysql - 1.10.0) Add-on from Paper-UI and get it to log all items state changes using the following ā€˜mysql.persistā€™ Persistence file:

// persistence strategies have a name and a definition and are referred to in the "Items" section
Strategies {
	// if no strategy is specified for an item entry below, the default list will be used
	everyMinute	: "0 * * * * ?"
	every5Minutes : "0 */5 * * * ?"
   	everyHour   : "0 0 * * * ?"
   	everyDay    : "0 0 0 * * ?"
   	default = everyChange
}

/* 
 * Each line in this section defines for which item(s) which strategy(ies) should be applied.
 * You can list single items, use "*" for all items or "groupitem*" for all members of a group
 * item (excl. the group item itself).
 */

Items {
    // persist all items once a day and on every change and restore them from the db at startup
    * : strategy = everyUpdate, restoreOnStartup
}

The console thew some errors (and still seems to now and then) that:

21:45:56.097 [INFO ] [el.core.internal.ModelRepositoryImpl] - Loading model 'mysql.persist'
21:45:56.116 [ERROR] [sql.internal.MysqlPersistenceService] - mySQL: Unable to find table for query '##ITEM NAME##'.
21:45:56.119 [ERROR] [sql.internal.MysqlPersistenceService] - mySQL: Unable to find table for query '##GROUP NAME##'.
... etc