Can OpenHab on Android control dumb temperature sensors and relays?

Hi,

What a fantastic piece of software this is. I’m new to OpenHab and home automation.

I’m in the USA and know programming and electronics. My house has two zones of water radiated heat with continuous pipes and gas broiler by weil-mclain Model VHE-5 Series 3 from around 1995.

Could you recommend the cheapest, most stable full solution for this. If no full solution then piecemeal or else diy.

Three temperature sensors wired to three Android devices (or wireless standalone sensors) on second floor that get averaged. Two same temperature sensors on first floor that get averaged. Both floors on separate heat control zones. Ideally these temperature sensors would be dumb and without displays, wired to a wireless Android device. Can openhub be the logic to transmit the temp to the primary Android mobile controller?

All averaging and daily logic controlled wireless by the primary Android mobile controller that’s permanently powered, on second floor.

The primary mobile wirelessly controls two zone relays (or controllers) next to boiler. The relays have no logic nor display. All the logic is by the primary Android mobile. All these use standard open source software and protocol like z-wave or zigbee. Does openhub replace OpenTherm? “OpenTherm controllers and boilers do not in fact always work properly together.” From wikipedia.

Can openhub on Android mobile serve as a daily boiler control and do sensor averaging?

This primary Android controller gets adjusted and monitored from multiple Android mobile and from desktop that’s off at nights. Off course security is critical. As is privacy from data harvesters like Google and Amazon. So local solution that can be securely adjusts and monitored when away from home.