Can't get manually installed binding active

Hi all,
I could use some help with this. I am trying to install/activate a 1.0 binding that the author says works for 2.0 as well. I have legacy binding on. I have dropped the json file into the addons folder. It does not show in the Paper UI, but in the karaf console, under bundle:list, it does how as “Installed” – all other ones show as “active” that were installed on the UI.

So, am I missing something to get this active? Thank you.

I should mention, this is for a Russound RNET device.

Did you configure the binding yet? (This has to be made either through services/russound.cfg or through openhab.cfg)

Thanks Udo,

I have not (I am very new with this). I dont see any binding specific files in the system folder or elsewhere. Should they be created on startup? Or I new to create the files?

I think, as you installed it manually, you will have to do the config also manually :slight_smile:
As this is a OH1 Binding, you will have to create a file /etc/openhab2/services/russound.cfg with the content

################################# Russound ############################################
# Enter the host IP of the computer which has exposed the RNET serial communication via the 
# python script tcp_serial_redirect.py
# eg. python ./tcp_serial_redirect.py -b 19200 /dev/ttyUSB0 
# this script effectively makes the serial connection (via /dev/ttyUSB0 port on my linux)
# available on the internal network, uses port 7777 by default.
# This allows one to have the serial connection to the Russound devices on a different computer
# than the Openhab executable

# Enter the port(optional) (7777) and host ip 
# 
host=192.168.1.30
#port=7777

Of course you have to change the ip to your russound ip.
Maybe this doesn’t work as expected, then you can try the other file etc/openhab2/services/openhab.cfg
You will have to write a russound: in front of any option referring to russound, say

russound:host=192.168.1.30
#russound:port=7777