Can't get openhab2.1.0 to open in windows 7

When I click the .bat file and run as administrator it flashes then doesn’t start. I have let it sit for 20 minutes. Help please!!!

Hi Kevin,
The flash you seeing is presumably the command window coming up and then immediately exiting for some reason.
Start.bat runs the batch file runtime\bin\karaf.bat
you might be able to see what the problem is by putting a “pause” at the end of the karaf.bat so that any output messages stay on the screen.
Regards,
Joe

How do I pause? I’m extremely new to this type of programming. I am a plc integrator and programmer that is trying to learn something else. Any help would be appreciated.

edit karaf.bat in Windows Notepad. Add a blank line at the very end of the file and then on the next line type the single word “pause” (without quotes) and then add another blank line.
When you run start.bat instead of karaf.bat immediately exiting it will stop, it will type out a prompt (usually something like “hit any key to continue”) and you can scroll back through the output to see if it’s complaining about something.
Do you have any experience with batch file programming under Windows?

No…none at all

Are you using the cmd.exe to run the .bat file

@KevinN

What folder did you put the program in? I’m pretty new to this and all, but it seems like it needs to be named “openhab-2.2.0” (which is the original name of the ZIP you downloaded).

Original zip was openhab-2.1.0…I put it in c: drive

@rekoj did you install on windows 7,8, 10…I have 7 home premium…I can upgrade to windows 10 if it works better but I prefer 7

Kevin:
you should be able to run start.bat by double-clicking on it in the Windows file Explorer. if you use cmd.exe you have to rename the file to something else, for example startoph.bat . Otherwise the Windows command shell thinks that you are using its internal “start” command .
I’m running on Windows 7 professional. Works fine.
Bob: