Change SSD to HDD Raspberry Pi 3B+ Root to USB

Hello,

i have used the function to copy the Root to USB and copied to a SSD. Now i will change the SSD with a HDD. I’m a Raspberry/Linux noob and wanted to ask if some one can help me. Can i just copy all the files from SSD to the HDD and all is fine? Can i do it with Windows 10 ? Wich filesystem i have to use?

Thanks for your help :slight_smile:

This is a tall order for a new to Linux user, what is the end goal you are trying to achieve by migrating from an SSD to a HDD?

Also never ever try to mount a drive formatted with a Linux file system on Windows, as it loads as a RAW drive and will prompt to format it.

What OS image do you with to run? Raspbian Lite or OpenHABian image?
That makes a difference in my recommendations.

See replies below: describe your real goal. I assume you want to avoid SD wearout… best option is to use openHABian and zram (menu option 6A, you can even install it if you didn’t install the image)

I need the SSD for another PC, so i want migrate from SSD to HDD. I’m running at OpenHABian image now. I’m happy with this configuration, but i need the ssd. maybe its easier so boot a linux distribution from usb-stick and copy the ssd to hdd? i have no plan :confused:

You need extensive Linux knowledge to properly do that, don’t expect anyone of us in this forum to teach you.
I suggest you backup your OH config (openhab-cli backup ...) and setup your system from scratch on a new SD card (using new just released openHABian image) and then import your OH config.
You can fall back to your old SD card should that fail .

Thanks for your help, but this is no option actually. I have some more installations than openhab on this machine. so i have to search and learn how i can backup the ssd and restore it in an hdd. but thanks for your help, i will search.

If running an OpenHABian image, it might work to use Etcher to install it on the HDD. I setup an SD with another image like that a while back.