Channel + MQTT Formatting

So sorry for such a beginner question. I am brand new to OpenHab and am very excited to get working with it.

How does one properly format both {channel =} and {mqtt =} in the same .item file for the same device? I have both working individually for my ISY (Insteon) dimmer - but I can’t get the dimmer to trigger the MQTT message when I try to combine the mqtt and channel parameters. Do you happen to have a sample config file that integrates both?

Or, am I looking at this in the wrong way?

Thanks very much.

You separate them by a comma.

However, I prefer to not mix and match bindings on one Item like this, at least until you have a lot more experience.

Instead, I would recommend using a Proxy Item and rule or rules to link the channel and MQTT together. I find this approach is easier to reason about, easier to debug, and easier to understand. Once you get it working this way you can come back and figure out how and if it can be done using just one Item.

1 Like

You are amazing. Thanks so much for your help. I believe that I did try a comma, but I will play around with it more tonight when I get home.

I will review your proxy suggestion tonight as well. I definitely want to go about this the “right” way - so thank you very much for that suggestion.

Just to confirm: {channel=} is the mechanism to tie a device (and it’s functionality) to a switch? If so, why do I see so many examples of .item configs that don’t have a {channel =} declaration in them? Are they associating these in some other fashion?

Again, thank you very much for taking the time to help a noob out.

channel= is used to link an Item to a Channel.

Only native 2.x version bindings support Things and Channels. In your case, the MQTT binding is a 1.x version binding so does not support Things and Channels and therefore has its own way to bind to an Item.