[SOLVED] Check if variable inside a lambda is null

I’m pretty new to OH Lambdas but I got it working, but when my variable doesn’t have a value, therefore is null - I’m getting a error in the logs.
to avoid this I wanted to write a simple if statement to check if theyre null or not:

if (gPERSON1Wecker.members.filter[s | s.name == "PERSON1_WECKER_"+Heute+"_M"].head.state as Number).intValue !== null)

But I get a error:

2018-11-29 22:44:21.775 [WARN ] [el.core.internal.ModelRepositoryImpl] - Configuration model 'AlarmClock.rules' has errors, therefore ignoring it: [110,102]: no viable alternative at input '.'

.head?

You may need to break down the steps here a bit.
You’re looking for an Item by name within a group, that’s fine.
But there may not be an Item with that name, in other words the filter will return null.
You can’t look at the .state of null, so there’s an error.
You’d need to test if you returned an Item before attempting to get it’s state.

Once you know you have an Item, you can be confident that it has a .state
But that state may be. uninitialized, in which case it is NULL
You can’t take an intValue of NULL, so there’s an error.
You may need to check for a state of NULL before further processing.

The method .head will return the first item of a list of items. It’s the opposite of the .last method. <groupitem>.members.filter will always return an item list, even if the list is empty or of size 1.

Maybe

var myNumber = (gPERSON1Wecker.members.filter[s | s.name == "PERSON1_WECKER_"+Heute+"_M" && s.state != NULL].head.state as Number).intValue

will suffice. Or use two steps:

if(gPERSON1Wecker.members.filter[s | s.name == "PERSON1_WECKER_"+Heute+"_M" && s.state != NULL].size > 0)
    var myNumber = (gPERSON1Wecker.members.filter[s | s.name == "PERSON1_WECKER_"+Heute+"_M" && s.state != NULL].head.state as Number).intValue
1 Like

Thanks. I did not know.
My reply did not mean to appear terse, I was on the phone :slight_smile:

Never mind :slight_smile: