Color item TCP binding

Hi,

I am using hyperion LED service, and it requires JSON data trough a TCP connection (no HTTP).

I now I can use TCP binding but how can I define the “Color” item in order to “Format” the RGB color data before sending it to the TCP connection.

This is a sample data hyperion server is waiting for:
{"color":[36,34,96],"command":"color","priority":100}

Thanks!

Either write a Rule to generate the formatted String or a Transform to convert the data, maybe through a JavaScript transform.

I’m not very good with transforms so I would probably do it in a rule. But @watou is really good with transforms and perhaps he can recommend an approach.

Can you suggest an example on how to define a Rule that generates an String that can be used on the TCP binding item definition?

Thanks!

If your Item is named MyTCP and it is configured to be outgoing:

rule "TCP rule"
when
    <Some trigger>
then
    // code to build the string str
    MyTCP.sendCommand(str)
end

Rules are independent of the bindings. The above will work no matter what MyTCP is bound to (MQTT, Serial, etc.) as long as the binding config is correct.

1 Like

A rule would work better than a transform in this case, because a rule would give you access to methods of the HSBType which is the command sent to the Color item.

import org.openhab.core.library.types.HSBType

rule SendRGB
when
  Item MyColorItem received command
then
  val HSBType hsb = receivedCommand as HSBType
  val String json = String::format("{\"color\":[%1$d,%2$d,%3$d],\"command\":\"color\",\"priority\":100}", 
    hsb.red, hsb.green, hsb.blue)
  MyTCP.sendCommand(json)
end

I think that the “rule” part is ok:

rule "Set RGB value"
when
	Item cgComedor_Fresiluz received command
then
	var HSBType hsbValue
	var String  redValue
	var String  greenValue
	var String  blueValue
	hsbValue = cgComedor_Fresiluz.state as HSBType

redValue   = hsbValue.red.intValue.toString
	greenValue = hsbValue.green.intValue.toString