Confirmation question via Amazon Echo and OH3

Hello,

I am still pretty new to OpenHAB and have managed to implement a few easy concepts from the tutorials. I have created a few virtual switches and am now trying to integrate Alexa as a means to ask for confirmation before executing a task. In detail, I want Alexa to ask a yes or no question, when a certain switch (“AlexaSwitch”) is triggered. If the user answers “yes” a different switch is supposed to be triggered and the “AlexaSwitch” is turned off. If the answer is “no”, only the “AlexaSwitch” is turned off.

I have managed to create rules for my switches and I have also managed to send a TTS to the Amazon Echo, but I don’t get how I can specify what to do, if a user answers the question asked. Is this even possible?

Thank you in advance.

Leo

As far as I know, no.

Questions that are output to the speaker by using TTS command do not translate your answer back to anything. It is not supported that alexa asks any question without programming a skill ( dialog ) for it.

Okay, but if I did programm a skill in the Amazon echo environment for said interaction, would it be possible to call that skill from openHAB and react to the answers?

what you could try is to use

• first in the Alexa app define a routine; the routine calls a skill to be executed when the routine is called
  • start a routine by using startRoutine in the Alexa control binding
  • within the skill a confirmation dialog would be required

What is the specific scenario that you’re trying to address with this solution?

In theory, if you ask Alexa to do something, it’s because you want Alexa to do that thing. If you want Alexa to do another thing, you’ll ask for that thing. It feels like you’re overcomplicating this just so that you can have a call-response interaction, but that’s not necessary. In most cases, the goal should be to get Alexa to do what you want as quickly as possible.