Confusing start

Hi
I am new in OpenHub, trying to migrate from SmartThings…
I have few "stupid " questions… still trying to navigate around and understand how things work.

• Is there a “beginners startup guide” to describe how things are related and create “my first automation”, including some event handling?. There is short tutorial, “http://docs.openhab.org/tutorials/beginner/rules.html”, but it does not seem detailed enough.
  • what is the relationship between PaperUI and HabMIN? which one is recommended for beginners?
  • I created a simple Thing with network binding with PaperUI and updated the “items” and “Sitemaps” config files. It seems the device state is updated in “PaperUI Control”, in “Classic UI” but not in “Basic UI” . Basic UI does not reflect changes in device state (although is displayed). Is this expected? How do we enable updating of device states in Basic UI?
  • When i create things and links with Paper UI, where are they saved? How can i use them? Some of the manuals describe i need to write the configuration files to enable automation, and it seems to me somehow the text files and Paper UI and HabMIN are independent items… What’s the relationship?

thanks

Hi,

Did you read the beginners Tutorial from the beginning? (http://docs.openhab.org/tutorials/beginner/index.html)
It covers the initial setup and installing the first bindings.
If you are looking for a detailed view on the concepts behind OpenHab to understand it better, the User-Manual will be your friend. (http://docs.openhab.org/introduction.html)

I think for automation you were right at the rules tutorial section.
If you would like to work with automating rules in a ui driven way to get deeper into the topic you can do that with PaperUI too.
You can simply install the Rule Engine and define rules within the PaperUI.
(You find it within the addons in the “MISC” category.)

Maybe this video tutorials can help you too: