Considering switching to OpenHab and I would like some insight regarding what I am planning to do with it

Hi!

I am currently running some home automation using SmartThings but I am getting increasingly unhappy by their platform unreliability (schedule not running on time, routine not getting saved as they should, etc…). So I am considering switching platform and OpenHab looks really interesting because it looks totally open and vendor agnostic. I am an IT system admin/integrator with a lot of experience in IT automation (lots of bash/perl scripting) so I believe I’ll feel at home with an OpenHab running on a linux machine. I also believe I’ll have a LOT more control on what I can do (or fail to do) than with a platform totally in the cloud.

I have some question though:

• Most of my device (temperature sensor, door sensor, leak sensor) are from SmartThings. I know they use Z-Wave. Anyone using those device with a Z-Wave stick and OpenHab? Couldn’t find anything in the forum or Google regarding the use of those sensor with anything else then a SmartThings hub. I would really prefer to just ditch the hub and keep the sensor…
  • I plan on using an Aoetec ZStick Gen5 plugged in a Raspberry Pi 2. It looks supported in the binding documentation. Any recommendation?
  • I would prefer not to run the OpenHab installation directly on the Raspberry Pi as I have a full vSphere cluster with HA (and much, much more power than the RPi). Since the Z-Wave is actually running on a serial interface, I thought I could simply use something like ser2net to proxy the serial interface across the network to a VM running OpenHab. Sounds feasible?
  • I got a couple of GE connected bulb that use ZigBee. I don’t really mind changing them for something else (Philips Hue sounds like a good idea) but it would be nice to keep them if possible. I couldn’t find much about a ZigBee binding. Any idea on how this could be achieved through some kind of bridge?

Any suggestion would be appreciated!