Contacts Not Changing state

Hi.
I’m have some trouble working the Contacts of open hab.
My set-up is as follows: Raspberry pi 2 model B. (Jessie)
Openhab 1.8.3 Installed via apt-get.
I have the gpio binding installed and working. I can turn on and off a led.
I have been trying to get a simple ON/OFF or OPEN/CLOSED to work.
i have tried making my own items, site maps. or adding in the bindings to the demo items and site map.
both of which i can operate the led but the status of the door or window that i put the contact binding on never changes sate when i physically move the wire to ether the 3.3v source or to ground.

I am by no means a programmer. I can recognise enough to be able to make small modifications or copy past to fit my needs.

I have tried going thrue the manual to no avail.

Thanks for any and all help.

Rich

There is a whole range of things that could be causing your problem. A big one is that you need to make sure you set your pull-up/pull-down correctly.

Personally, I have never tried to do GPIO from OH. My server is too far from my devices wired to my Raspberry Pis so I wrote my own Python script to read and report the state of door sensors to OH over MQTT.

You can look at it and see if it gives you some hints. I can confirm that it works.

Thanks for the reply.
Ya I am using a pull up resistor set-up. I don’t think the issue is in the physical set-up.

Here is some of the code that i’m using.

Contact Window_Kitchen_Door “Kitchen Door [MAP(en.map)%s]” (Inside_Kitchen) {gpio=“pin:27”}