Converting DateTime to String

Hi,

first… I’m a JAVA developer since > 15 years and I have experience in reading documentations, trying things out and lot of patience. BUT… since more then 2 hours and browsing through this forum and others I cannot find any solution for the simplest stuff that may exist.

As background I have a rule where I want to control time based my outputs.

I have

strSunset is an item of type String
strDownTime is an item of type String

var DateTime sunset = parse(year+"-"+month+"-"+day+“T”+strSunset.state)
strDownTime = [ something like ‘sunset.plusMinutes(30).format("%1$tH:%1$tM:%1$tS")’ ]

I have no idea. I cannot find any documentation

also more test code like

In other topics I found
String::format("%1$td %1$tb %1$tl:%1$tM %1$tp", new Date()) ends up in NullPointerException
Then I tried
String::format("%1$td %1$tb %1$tl:%1$tM %1$tp",sunset) ends up in java.util.IllegalFormatConversionException: d != org.joda.time.DateTime

Further - what is the format of Dates? I cannot find any documentation. All official is just like %H and not %1$H

What the hell am I doing wrong? Where can I find appropriate documentation. All I find is just not working code snippets, so called examples, where probably not every setting is mentioned.

Thanks & Kind regards
Dominik

DateTime is challenging in OH, speaking as someone who has programmed in Java since 1.2.

But to help your specific problem I need more context and information.

Please post your exact Item definition.

Please post where the sunset string Congress from and how it gets populated.

Why are you not using a DateTime Item?

Please post your Rule.

I can point you at a lot of docs but i need more context to understand where you are going wrong.