D-Link DCH-G020 how to pair?

Hi, I am running OpenHAB v3 on a Debian Linux. I own an Aeotec Z-Stick Gen5, which is correctly recognised by my machine and by OpenHAB.

I have installed the “Z-Wave Serial Controller” to my Things and that seems to be also correctly recognised. It communicates on /dev/ttyACM0.

The question is now, given that I am a total beginner, how do I make it work? I would presume I would need to add my DCH-G020 hub somehow to OpenHAB but what are the steps?

After the DCH-G020 will be finally recognised, I would also suppose I’d need to add each device one by one to it. How do I do this?

Please someone let me know - I really cannot get this figured out!!!

I’m not familiar with zwave but normally the aeotec stick should replace your hub and your zwave devices should connect directly to your stick.

If you want to add your existing hub then you would most likely need another binding that will leverage any api your dlink device has

Matze0211 is right, the Aeotec stick together with OpenHAB acts as a Z-Wave hub. You need to “include” your Z-Wave devices to the stick (which acts as a “controller” in the Z-Wave network). Every included device can then be made into a “thing” in OpenHAB.

Z-Wave can manage two controllers in a network, where one is a primary controller and the other one is a secondary controller. In theory that could be a way to include Z-Wave hubs into the OpenHAB universe. However, I did not stumble over any documentation where someone implemented/used that feature.
In addition to that, Z-Wave devices always belong to exactly one Z-Wave network (in the situation mentioned above it would be the network of the primary controller) and thus cannot be made available in another Z-Wave network.
Including a Z-Wave hub in parallel to a Z-Wave controller in OpenHAB is therefore most likely to be done via WiFi or network cable, if needed at all.

Dear @Matze0211 and @stefan.oh,
I really appreciate your comments on this. I am at a wit’s end.