desiredHeat Setting Breaking ecobee config

I am new to OpenHAB but come in with decent Linux experience. Currently running OpenHAB 1.8 on a RPII image.

I am attempting to setup the controls to update the temperature settings for my ecobee. It works fine-ish when using only desiredCool, but as soon as I add desiredHeat everything breaks. Thermostat is currently set to Auto mode. I am able to pull sensor temps back with no issue, and I am able to pull the cooling temp back with no issue. As soon as I uncomment the desiredHeat option everything goes to hell.

items -
Number desiredCoolUp “Desired Upstairs cooling temp [%.1f °F]” { ecobee="<[xxx#runtime.desiredCool]" }
Number desiredHeatUp “Desired Upstairs heating temp [%.1f °F]” { ecobee="<[xxx#runtime.desiredHeat]" }

rules -
import org.openhab.core.library.types.*

rule CoolHold
when
Item desiredCoolUp received command
then
logInfo(“CoolHold”, "Setting cool setpoint to " + receivedCommand.toString)
val DecimalType desiredCoolTemp = receivedCommand as DecimalType
var DecimalType desiredHeatTemp
if (desiredHeatUp.state instanceof DecimalType) {
desiredHeatTemp = desiredHeat.state as DecimalType
} else {
desiredHeatTemp = new DecimalType(50)
}

// the 1.9 onwards action bundle uses a selection string instead of an item as the first parameter
// ecobeeSetHold(“123456789012”, desiredCoolTemp, desiredHeatTemp, null, null, null, null, null)
// openHAB 1.8 call:
ecobeeSetHold(desiredCoolUp, desiredCoolTemp, desiredHeatTemp, null, null, null, null, null)
end

logs -
2016-06-27 15:40:03.420 [ERROR] [o.u.i.items.ItemUIRegistryImpl] - Cannot retrieve visibility item hvacMode for widget org.openhab.model.sitemap.Setpoint
2016-06-27 15:40:03.426 [ERROR] [o.u.i.items.ItemUIRegistryImpl] - Cannot retrieve item desiredCoolUp for widget org.openhab.model.sitemap.Setpoint
2016-06-27 15:40:03.448 [ERROR] [o.u.i.items.ItemUIRegistryImpl] - Cannot retrieve item desiredCoolUp for widget org.openhab.model.sitemap.Setpoint