Difference bindings, PaperUI, configuration,

Hi there,

I’m pretty new to OpenHAB, I tested some with 1.8 and recently used the Raspberry Pi install kit for OpenHAB2!
I love it, but now I’m a bit confused about configuration and bindings and all.

Starting with 1.8 I installed bindings with first downloading them, then activating them in the big config file. Now with OpenHAB2 I understand, I can install bindings via PaperUI - I’m using the openhab2-offline version, if that’s important.
So, my questions are:

1. After installing, I don’t find the respective .cfg-files in /Services, is that correct? They can be configured also in PaperUI - can they then be used in items and rules?
  2. Using PaperUI for installation is the recommended way, isn’t it?
  3. I’d like to think, that after installing bindings, they should appear as “installed” in the list of bindings in PaperUI, but (at least after an reboot?) they don’t appear all as installed after a while?
  4. If I don’t find 2.x bindings, I’d like to use 1.x bindings, but after activating the respective “include Legaca 1.x Bindings” not every binding appears, do I need to download them beforehands?

Thanks for your help!

Thomas.

I’ve found some do not generate the .cfg and others do. Some 2.0 version bindings can be configured through PaperUI and/or Habmin. Review the readme for the 2.0 bindings and the wiki for the 1.9 bindings for their configuration parameters. If they have some you may need to create the cfg file yourself.

I’d say the answer is mixed. Right now there is a problem where an upgrade to OH causes one to lose all of the add-ons, requiring you to reinstall them after the upgrade. Until this gets fixed I recommend listing your bindings in services/addons.cfg instead. That way everything gets automatically installed upon an upgrade.