Distributed, coordinated, reasoning control

Hi,
I am a master student in Essen, also working for the chair, embarking on the enterprise to bring a new aspect to the great openHAB2 project as my master’s thesis.
The details are a bit complicated to explain, but I will try to here, also I’ll be at the eclipseCon in three weeks, hoping to be able to meet with at least you @Kai and talk a bit about the approach.
I’m writing here now, because I need a little guide where and how to start in terms of code, also to make you all aware of the idea and get your suggestions.

We want to take a somehow different approach in applying the smart home system, which is modeled and controlled by ESH/openHAB2.
Until now, there is (as far as I understand it, please correct me) a rule engine, which can determine which commands to execute based on basic sensor data, state, variables and external service data.

We propose an option to connect multiple instances of openHAB, each of them possibly in the separate flats of a house or in the separate houses of a street or neighborhood. Those independent instances could then communicate with each other to influence the local control of the smart home, e.g. arrange an agreement, when exactly each instance starts it’s washing machine.

This could be an important contribution to implement load shifting on electricity networks: If every washing machine in a neighborhood starts at the same time, it means a huge load (ca. 2000W/machine) on the net. If the smart homes coordinate, it would mean a great help for keeping stability and reliability. Also, this way electricity might be usable in times, where it is easily available and cheap (at night or noon).