Documenting a solution

• Platform information:
    • Hardware: _Intel 5i/ 8GB /500 GB
    • Java Runtime Environment: OPENJDK 11
    • openHAB version: 3.0.2

I’ve been running OpenHAB for 2 years now and have connect garage doors, gates, lights, home alarm systems etc. All is working very well, and now I have a need to document the solution but battle to do this in an effective way.

I have found that I have implemented rules that partially overlaps with other rules. I have followed a naming convention with items, things, channels, and yet I still battle to find my way to what I’m looking for. With a well documented solution it will be easier to navigate when making adjustments, add new rules, I’ll be able to sort our partial duplication etc.

Has anyone documented their solutions and willing to give me a few pointers on how to do this in a effective manner, or point me to a topic (I have searched extensively with no luck)

Much appreciated

How much time you got?

The hard part of documentation is maintaining it. Unless you make incremental edits every single time something changes, it quickly becomes obsolete. That’s pretty typical, and the reason why documentation tends to start out well and then slowly get worse over time. It’s also why companies hire technical writers–documentation is a full job unto itself.

My personal experience is that most people don’t want to put in the time and effort to maintain docs–and I include myself in that group. I’ve been a technical writer in the past and enjoyed the challenge of creating new manuals and procedures. However, I hated making minor edits and rewriting when something changed–and that was most of the work.