Duration from seconds to minutes

Hi All,

This script I found which works quite well to convert seconds to duration, however when the item has NULL on it, say at boot, it throws an error.
I have no experience with JS so Ive not a foggiest on how to convert this, but can anyone suggest a change to remove the error?

For OH3 it would be unreal! if there could be a built in formatter for seconds, minutes, hours etc etc :wink:

19:17:06.363 [WARN ] [.rest.core.item.EnrichedItemDTOMapper] - Failed transforming the state 'NULL' on item 'UPS_Battery_Runtime' with pattern 'JS(duration_from_seconds.js):%s': An error occurred while executing script.

// computes nicely formatted duration from given seconds
(function(i){

var date = new Date(null);
        date.setSeconds(parseInt(i)); // specify value for SECONDS here
        return date.toISOString().substr(11, 8);

})(input)

Persistence rrd4j…Restore on startup or if that’s not working use in a rule a test for item == null and if true assign a value eg use previous value

Hi Mark,

Yep persistance is not working im afraid using mapdb. Which is odd

So,

rule "UPS run time"
when
        System started
then
        UPS_Battery_Runtime.postUpdate(1)
end

Is persistence not working (A) or does persistence not solve your problem (B).

Case A:
Please Show your Setup for mapDB, especially the files: services/mapdb.cfg and persistence/mapdb.persist

Case B:
It MIGHT be the case that your rule is run BEFORE the state of the item has been restored. In this case you will see this error once every Startup only.

1 Like

persistence is working. It appears only for this item it may not. Unlikely

Strategies {
    everyHour   : "0 0 * * * ?"
    everyDay    : "0 0 0 * * ?"

default = everyChange
}

Items {
    * : strategy = everyChange, everyDay, restoreOnStartup
}

# the commit interval in seconds (optional, default to '5')
#commitinterval=5

# issue a commit even if the state did not change (optional, defaults to 'false')