Dynamic icons for values higher than 100

Hi there,

I am a relative noob and currently debugging my custom icons. Mostly this works, e.g. for ON/OFF stuff.
But numerical values only seem to work for values smaller than 100.
I have a brightness sensor, which generates values between 0 and 255.
I have icons defined like “mybright.png”, “mybright-0.png”, “mybright-100.png”, “mybright-120.png”.
(no uppercase etc.)
There is no label text mapping in place just “…[%.0f]”.
The result is that I always see only the default “mybright.png” until the value goes smaller than 100, when I see “mybright-0.png”.
This is the same under iOS and BasicUI (set for bitmap).
The icons are in the same “icons/classic” folder like my other working ones.
And I have restarted openhab2.service and even rebooted many times. No go.
I am running an up-to-date openhabianpi (2.1.0-1) on a RPI3.

Any hints?

Kindregards,
Michael

I can even reproduce this behavior with a Vitual Number:

Number Vnum "Virtual Number" <mybright>
sitemap virtual label="Virtual Playground" {
   Text item=Vnum label="Virtual num"
   Setpoint item=Vnum label="Virtual num" minValue=50 maxValue=255 step=5
}

Result: all custom icons “mybright-xxx.png” for xxx < 100 are found, but for values bigger than 100 the default icon is shown.

Is the item in question a PercentType item?

What you are doing seems to be correct. The best I can offer is to file an Issue with the Eclipse SmartHome project (I think that is where dynamic icons are implemented).

2 Likes

I do not think so. In my real application as well as in the isolated demo case (“Vnum”) of my second post, the item is explicitly defined as “Number”.

I really appreciate your support. Initially I had high hopes that someone would shout out with “works for me”. I’d never thought that values above 100 are somehow exotic. But it seems to me that the Slider is inherently limited to the range 0-100 (as opposed to the Setpoint widget, where you provide explicit min and max).