[SOLVED] Electronic Shelf Labels (ESL), anybody?

Hi,

I’m interested in using electronic shelf labels (ESLs), the (mostly) radio-controlled, mostly eInk-based labels you can find in shops and supermarkets. I’ve been able to find a few brands and label vendors (e.g. on A**express), but failed to find any option to buy “just” a single ESL gateway (used for updating the labels).

My use case, e.g: have a large label on the inside of my door that tells me, in red, stuff like “You can’t leave yet, the following windows are still open: …” etc. Since battery life times are stated to be up to 5 years, ESLs look promising for this. However, what is sold is “solutions” for stores, including a lot of stuff I do not need for my purposes.

Has anybody ventured into this, based on openhab or similar platforms? Are there ESL gateway standards that I should be aware of, or is everything vendor-specific?

Thanks for any ideas and suggestions,
Rolf

1 Like

I love this idea!
I have no experience with ESLs (now I know what they’re called, though) but if I were to do this, I would roll my own using an ESP32 + eInk display. It could stay in deep sleep mode most of the time, and wake up, connect to wifi, pull the state, update the screen and sleep again once every few minutes. You should be able to achieve several months battery life this way, maybe beyond a year if it doesn’t have to wake up too often.

There are even ESP32 modules that include the e-ink display! Check out this youtube video.

1 Like

Please use a different acronym.

For native English language speakers, ESL represents “English as a Second Language”, usually referring to training courses teaching English to non-native speakers.

1 Like

For better or worse, cat’s out of the bag, check Wikipedia :slight_smile:

2 Likes

You were confused that he wanted to put “English as a Second Language” displays next to his door? With long battery life…

2 Likes