Enable outlet at sunset

Hi all. Beginner here trying to setup my first rule that will turn on a z-wave outlet at sunset, and turn it off at sunrise. The outlet works by itself via my sitemap’s on/off switch. I am also confident that Astro is configured properly, as I have a text item on my sitemap that prints the sunset time.

Here is my rule file:

import org.openhab.core.library.types.*
import org.openhab.core.persistence.*
import org.openhab.model.script.actions.*

/**

• Turn on outlet at sunset
    */
    when
    Item Sunset_Event received update ON
    then
    sendCommand(Outlet01_FF_Living, ON)
    end

/**

• Turn off outlet at sunrise
    */
    when
    Item Sunrise_Event received update ON
    then
    sendCommand(Outlet01_FF_Living, OFF)
    end

Here is what the events log shows when I manually turn on the outlet:

2015-11-29 17:25:57 - Outlet01_FF_Living received command ON
2015-11-29 17:25:57 - Outlet01_FF_Living state updated to ON

Here is what the events log shows at sunset:

2015-11-29 16:30:00 - Sunset_Event state updated to ON
2015-11-29 16:30:00 - Sunset_Event state updated to OFF

Not really sure what I am missing here. I have both the binding and action jar files for Astro 1.7.1 in my addons folder (I am running OH 1.7.0 on an RPi2).

Thank you for reading!

I might be wrong, but I think the Astro ‘events’ only last momentarily. So you might need to set up a virtual item that gets changed when Astro sends out the ‘start’ message. As in, I think Astro says "Sunset Starting Start’ and then moments later ‘Sunset Starting Stop’. But clearly the actual real-world event of sunset is still taking place.

So I was thinking of having a rule that checked whether Astro said it was ‘daylight’. As everything else is either sunset/sunrise or night. So you’d need to set up a virtual item that got changed by Astro whenever the time of day ‘type’ got changed, looking out for the special exception called ‘daylight’

Does that make sense?