[SOLVED] Enocean binding and windows, no go?

Hey Ladies and Gentlemen

Complete noob here. Just trying to set up some testing to learn openhab but can’t even get the basics going.

Had some old enocean equipment at work so I figured that was a good start to test openhab. Bought an enocean usb300 but I can’t seem to get it into openhab. It seems to work in the system (windows 10), I’ve installed dolphinview from enocean and it can see pushbutton events in the log of that program (when I push the button) and it connects to usb300.

From what I understand the usb device should be automatically picked up by openhab?? But from what I can see it hasn’t (or I’m just to noob to understand it). When I scan for things on the binding (and pushes a button) nothing happens.

What am I missing, I can’t find any config file for enocean either (should be one if I’m not mistaken) and log file doesn’t show anything more than just that the binding is installed.

Please help, I’ve tried to search for info but I can’t find anything regarding windows and enocean.

thank you
Mikael

My system:
Win 10 pro
Openhab 2.4 (downloaded it the other day)
Oracle java 8 211 (downloaded it yesterday)
Enocean binding 2.4 (installed from within openhab)

Hello Mikael,

auto discovery of USB300 just works in Linux. There exists no API to discover USB devices in Windows. So you have to add the gateway manually and choose the right COM port. The binding definitely works under Windows as I have developed it under Windows 10. However I would recommend to use the 2.5 snapshot version of openhab as the 2.4 binding version has some major bugs.

Best regards
Daniel

Daniel, thank you for your reply.

That was a big detail that i missed. and that explains why it doesent work. ill try the 2.5 snapshot.

thank you

mikael

Hi again.

When manually adding. Do I have to create any config files or edit an existing one.

Going to try this tonight when I get home.

Thank you.
Mikael