Error with Timer variable

Hello,
I am very new to openHAB2.
I want to do something if an item remains in a special state for some time. There are several examples here in the forum, but i don’t get it running.
I’ve spent hours in debugging my rule script and searching the forum for these erros. Here is my very simplified Script:

var timer t1 = null

rule "Test_Switch_on"
        when
                Item Test_Switch changed to ON
        then
                logInfo("Rule_Test-Switch_on", "Switch is on.")
                if (t1 == null) {
                        logInfo("Rule_Test-Switch_on","Hello! ")
                        t1 = createTimer(now.plusSeconds(10), [|
                                //do something cool
                                logInfo("log", "timer")
                                t1=null
                        ])
                }
        end

There are errors when saving the script and when it’s fired too:

2017-12-29 23:48:05.346 [INFO ] [el.core.internal.ModelRepositoryImpl] - Validation issues found in configuration model 'mytest.rules', using it anyway:
The field Tmp_mytestRules.t1 refers to the missing type Object
The field Tmp_mytestRules.t1 refers to the missing type Object
2017-12-29 23:48:05.362 [INFO ] [el.core.internal.ModelRepositoryImpl] - Refreshing model 'mytest.rules'
2017-12-29 23:48:30.312 [INFO ] [ome.model.script.Rule_Test-Switch_on] - Switch is on.
2017-12-29 23:48:30.316 [ERROR] [ntime.internal.engine.RuleEngineImpl] - Rule 'Test_Switch_on': Unknown variable or command '=='; line 8, column 7, length 10

The problem seems to be that your t1 variable is not of a valid type. Try to declare it with capital T.

var Timer t1 = null

Additionally to that, I think it should be:

t1 = createTimer(now.plusSeconds(10)) [|
                                //do something cool
                                logInfo("log", "timer")
                                t1=null
                        ]