Exec bindings help

noob here Im new to openhab and have yet to get anything working, I’ve followed the instructions at http://smarthome.hallojapan.de/2014/11/controlling-lights-with-openhab-raspberry-pi-and-433mhz-remote-switches/ and am able to run the shell script from terminal via ssh but can’t figure out the bit at the bottom “Add openHAB item” I’ve tried for three days now but can’t find simple instructions on exec bindings. I’ve copied and pasted the code into a sitemap file but nothing appears. please help

Hi, and welcome i am prettey new as well.

Are u using openhab 1.x or Openhab 2 ?
your tuturial is for Openhab1.x i think
The code does not belong in the Sitemap´file :wink:

In Openhab you have amongst other things:

• Items: (or Things as well in Openhab2) The *.items file defines the Variables u are using.
    A switch (Variable Type) is what is used in ur example. A Switch can only have the states “ON” or “OFF”. Then the code(python script) for ON/OFF is executet as the state changes. So this example code code goes in the *items file.

• Sitemaps: Sitemaps define what you see in the UI For example:

Switch item= Lamp_LV_Standing icon="light"

This would display a switch with the icon of a lightbulb that switches your variable " Lamp_LV_Standing "

I’m using openhab2, Would you recommend i use openhab 1? I will try what you said right now

please excuse my ignorance, Where would it display a switch with an icon of a lightbulb? I’m completely lost here

you cann use openhab1.x, I would recommend openhab2 since it kind of replaces the old one.

Like @borderbridge said the code does not belong in the Sitemap file.

• first add the exec binding if you haven’t yet (via PaperUI in your browser or the addons.cfg)

• then create an item:

Switch Lamp_LV_Standing "Standing Lamp" {exec=">[OFF:sudo /opt/rc-switch/switchOff.sh 1] >[ON:sudo /opt/rc-switch/switchOn.sh 1]"}