executeCommandLine simple OH3

Hi,

I’m very new to openhab and I don’t have a lot of experience with programming in general. I picked openHAB to be able to run a simple RF-python script from my RPI. It works very well on a system level but not inside of openhab. I’ve read through the documentation and spent several days trying to wrap my head around both the execbinding and the executeCommandLine within rules. I made a simple rule trying just to run it and see if the command is getting executed at all but no luck there. Things I’ve checked:

Running the command on system level as openhab user. (Works)
added the command in the whitelist
added NOPASSWD for openhab user
Made a sh script running the python scripts instead of running it directly.

Here is my simple rule for checking if the command even gets through:

triggers: []
conditions: []
actions:
  - inputs: {}
    id: "2"
    configuration:
      itemName: HYLLA
      command: executeCommandLine(Duration.ofSeconds(5), "bash",
        "/home/openhabian/test.sh")
    type: core.ItemCommandAction

Maybe I’ve just understood this completely wrong but then i might need some pointing in the right direction.

THX!

This will send the string " executeCommandLine( etc." to an Item named HYLLA.
What type of Item is that, what are you expecting it to do with that text string?

I think there is a bit of muddle here.

You can pre-configure Exec binding things and channels to call scripts, passing parameters derived from Item state as needed. You’d use those by linking channel to Item and, say, commanding the Item ON.,

Or, within the body of a scripted rule, the part where you can add stuff up or make log messages etc., you can ad-hoc use the action executeCommandLine() to call an external script, passing any parameters you can build.
Whitelisting is not required here.