Expose rules to IFTTT?

hello,newbie to openhab,latest stable,i am trying to IFTTT intergration and all are working just fine,i see all my exposed things and i can trigger them from IFTTT.I am wondering if there is a way to expose a rule so i can trigger it from IFTTT…?

Hello!

As fast as I know, there are 4 types of rule triggers (item, time, system and thing), but there is no way to trigger a rule directly (without using one of the above triggers). You could create a proxy item (e.g. switch) and create a rule that’s being trigger by state change of that proxy item.

Best regards,
Davor

thank you,i was thinking that way too but my linux skills are worst than my 8 yo son :slight_smile: .I am a technician and a fast learner,i have much reading to do.Can you point me to what i need to read to create a proxy switch to trigger from ifttt and to toggle it from my paperui?

Hello!

Proxy switch is just a regular Switch item, you just don’t have to connect it to any channel/thing. You can read more about proxy items here.

For example, your .items file could contain something like this:

Switch IFTTT_Rule_Trigger "IFTTT Rule Trigger"

Then, you should connect a rule to a proxy switch state change/update. For example, you could add something like this in your .rules file:

rule "IFTTT Rule Triggered"
when
   Item IFTTT_Rule_Trigger received update
then
   //Do some logic here
end

Then, you just change state of IFTTT_Rule_Trigger using IFTTT, and the rule will be executed. If your rule don’t need ON/OFF state, you can trigger this switch to ON from IFTTT, and, in the end of the rule, switch it back to OFF. This way switch (kind of) behaves like a push button.

Best regards,
Davor

Edit: In the .rules example above, rule will be trigger when you update a switch, so, it doesn’t matter if the switch is ON or OFF. If you need to trigger rule only when switching it ON then you should use:

when
   Item IFTTT_Rule_Trigger changed to ON