Getting started with Amazon Echo Control Binding

I am new to OpenHAB and Amazon Echo Control.

I want to do one thing and one thing only and this all seems like so much to learn to acomplish one small thing!

I want to send text strings to the echo for reading from a Linux command. These messages will come from an asterisk server, and can be sent from post or curl post commands, or other method available from asterisk dial plan (whatever can be done in a command prompt can be worked into dial plan).

I have read in these forums about some examples , etc but have never found any such examples and have no idea even where to look for these examples. What is the easiest way to get simple text messages to Alexa for reading?

Any help appreciated. Thanks

Mark

You can do this by using OH.

• create an item that will carry the text to read
  • create a rule that is to be triggered
  • the rule then will be triggered by a change of the item
  • the rule then to run TTS on your echo
  • the item is to be updated from your Asterik server via curl and REST interface

Alternatively this should work: https://github.com/thorsten-gehrig/alexa-remote-control
A shell script that can be used to remote control Alexa and besides other stuff also run TTS.

After looking at both of these methods, neither is easy to understand for a noob. In fact they both seem extremely convoluted in order to perform a seemingly simple function.

I suppose if I make OpenHAB a full time job for the next couple of weeks, I can get it done but I do not have that kind of time to create a single “convienience” feature.

I had hoped someone might be more specific in a more simple process but seems it is all quite vague.

1 Like

Did you create an Echo thing? If yes, have a look at the auto-created channels, using the show “more” button should reveal a string channel named “speek” ( I translated that from the German “sprich”, so it migth be a bit different). This channel should do what you want.