Getting started with OH Dev

Hi,
I’m new to OH2 development and just started to develop a binding for the Rachio sprinkler controllers. So I did a clean install of the JDK (latest 1-8), Maven (latest 3.x), Eclipse IDE (Oxygen) as advised. After startup project structure is created, I closed some projects to get rid of the errors and started creating org.openhab.binding.rachio. So far so good.

One problem to overcome: building org.openhab.core.karaf fails. When opening pom.xml I see:

Plugin execution not covered by lifecycle configuration: org.commonjava.maven.plugins:directory-maven-plugin:0.2:highest-basedir (execution: directories, phase: initialize)

so I needs to

First problem: I followed @Kai video tour on youtube. After installing everything on OSX (latest macOS) and trying to open 127.0.0.1:8080 the page load forever. A tried a fresh install and a second OSX machine - same problem. I found a post from 2016 that it was a problem with TTS+audio initialization, but don’t know what can be done rather than installing the latest macOS updates. Audio ist working fine on both systems. Finally I moved to a Windows VM :frowning: . A fresh install worked like expected including launching the local PaperUI. Do first question: How to fix this problem on macOS? Ist it known? In total I tried 5 fresh installs without a working result.

Now I got stuck, because I’m not able to add a dependency using pom.xml->Maven->Add Plug-In dependency. When start tying org.eclipsehome or org.openhab or even org.apache nothing will be shows as search result. I found on Google the hint to rebuild the repository index, did it, no result. :frowning: I tried reinstalling the Maven integration (oping to fix some settings problems etc.) - no success. I’m able to add code and it builds and runs, but I can’t add any other dependency (incl. ESH components).

I love openHAB :frowning: and like to contribute, but I’m just stuck on the dev environment. :frowning:
Any help is appriciated :wink: