Granting/Denying access to wifi using a switch

I don’t know where to put/ask this and possibly it’s not possible anyway but here’s what I want to do (I have a Fritz-Box-router):
Have a oh-switch that grants/denies a specific Computer/Smartphone access to our wifi (background: one of my kids spends too much online time and apart from the general kids settings like 3h/day, I’d like to give/take additional access just by switching a button).

I don’t think that this can be done but maybe one of you proves me wrong? :wink: Maybe with an additional piece of hardware?
I guess I’m not the only one interested in something like that.

First a disclaimer:

I am not familiar with Fritz-Box or its capabilities but I am a wireless Wi-Fi engineer.

You likely have your wireless network set up using a pre-shared key. That means the Wi-Fi network has no way of identifying one user from another. In order to be able to do what you want, there needs to be a way for the router to identify one user from another. That would be a starting point, I wpuld assume.

EDIT: You might be able to do something with parental controls that identifies at the device level.

1 Like

I have to deal with a similar problem and found a solution for older phones that are passed down to kids using Family Link. While it is a battle to get it setup on a phone (last one being LineageOS 16 or 17 on a Oneplus would not register withing nothing more generic then a basic failed. However once you manage to get something registered you can assign time on 15 min increments; and when the time limit is reached it locks down the entire screen. You can also limit times on a per app level, useful if they use the device for something like Khan Academy.