Graphic programing options

Hi,

First of all I wanted to say that I did a lot of reading last couple of weeks here and the mindset and how people talk to each other here is just so nice to see.

That said, I am at a point that I want to automate my house. I love tech and I could say that I’m pretty comfortable with tech in general. My programming skills are what I call copy/paste programming. I can see the logic and with pre written bits and pieces I’m pretty OK with adjusting them a little. But nowhere nere programming on my own.

At the same time I do like some advanced things and can understand the logic behind it. So I’m not a total newbie but programing in a language is a step to far.

After a lot of reading a research I find myself between 2 worlds. I thought that OH would be perfect for me, love the immense possibilities and its open source and I can install it on a pi. But after the days past I see that there is a lot of programming needed of you want it to work and look slick. And this is really overwhelming for me. Even though people are willing to help, there not going to program it for me.

I’ve seen and played with fibaro home center and the automation part was just lovely. It was perfect for me, you could do a lot with an graphic interface but if needed some small bits and pieces could be programmed in lua. The big downside are the possibilities with hardware. Limited to their own products and they not willing to incorporate products from competitors.

So to end my looong story :sweat_smile: is there a way in OH where I can automate in a graphic UI? The experimental rules engine got me really really excited but I’ve noticed it isn’t really all that. And on top of that the paper UI is kind of ending.