Gratitude and salutations from a beginner - My first 'thing' a Samsung TV is now 'working' in openHAB

I would like to take a min and thank everyone. I am a network person by trade, and have seen legacy Cisco go ‘pufft’ in past 3-4 years. A a novice in Linux and a new home owner, openHAB is my new hobby. Today I got my TV to mute and turn off from openHAB and could not be happier.

Platform information:
Hardware: CPUArchitecture/RAM/storage - x86/16G/98G LVM
OS: what OS is used and which version Ubuntu 180.4 4.15.0-128-generic
Java Runtime Environment: which java platform is used and what version

java --version
openjdk 11.0.9.1 2020-11-04 LTS
OpenJDK Runtime Environment Zulu11.43+55-CA (build 11.0.9.1+1-LTS)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM Zulu11.43+55-CA (build 11.0.9.1+1-LTS, mixed mode)

openHAB version: openHAB 2.5.11 Release Build

1 Like

I started this thinking zwave would be cheap and everywhere.

I had a Chamberlin myQ garage door opener, couple of Adafruit power supplies and lights and thought garage door would be my first ‘thing’. Had a bit of trouble getting openHAB server running and immediately realized a Bluetooth enabled LED Strip is what I want to play with. Then bought refurb sengled, and a bluetooth WiFi USB.

“I am learning a lot”
A lot more than I expected.
Thought any temp prob would show up in openHAB scan…
Now, would like to get a temp prob.

Congratulations! It’s incredibly satisfying when it works!

A small note:

You are using openHAB 2, which requires Java 8. openHAB 2 does seem to work with Java 11 but there may be unintended, unknown and unsupported issues.

openHAB 3, just released, does require Java 11.

2 Likes

I have debated about switching to Java8…
still thinking. Thank you for pointing out, which I think is obvious to you, but was a confusing subject for me. Since I am using a lot of 2.x add-on and knowing dev, don’t expect them in 3, I am seriously considering Java8.
this is a little dell T1500 that sits under my desk.