Group shows value as UNDEF

I’m just getting started with OH(3); I’ve been using OH1/2 for years.
I have defined a Group as Measurement, Light, Number:Luminousintesity with MAX for aggregation. It has a member Item of Measurement, Light, Number:luminousIntensity; The item is showing a value and is being graphed as a number. The Group just shows as UNDEF. I had tried with two member items of number type, that also produces a UNDEF aggregation.
I’m hoping someone can point me in the right direction!

With no aggregation, Group state is NULL.
Seeing UNDEF is therefore a step forward! It’s tried but failed to update.
Typically you’ll see this where it’s trying to perform nonsense - getting MAX of a String type member, for example, or trying to put a COUNT result into a String type Group.
In the first instance, I would carefully check Group type and your sole member Item type, and check there are no unexpected members. Look at the Item’s JSON code with API explorer, in case the UI is hiding stuff.

There have been problems with parsing Quantity type Group definiions, closely connected to exactly how/where you define them. Could you share?

You bet!
This is from the events.log for tha item:
mqtt:broker:broker3:basementLightLevel triggered 100.0
This is a screen clip of the item (let me know if there’s another way of sharing the definition, I’ve been using the UI rather than files to try and make the switch to OH3 from OH1/2):

That’s an event channel, it’s not an Item state.
Group aggregations work with Item states.

Your screenshot shows an Item linked to a different channel.
The Item is a Quantity type, Number:Luminousintesity,but it’s state appears to have no units.
I think that will blow up an aggregation attempting to work with units, which an aggregation on a Quantity type Group should do. (Is that 100 lux? 100 millicandles? … UNDEFined)

So you need to explore why your Item has no units.
MQTT binding generic Things supply no units by default.