Guidance for a setup in a cold chamber

Hi guys,

My name is Juan, from Spain, I am a complete beginner on this topic of home automation systems and sensors. I came across with OPENHAB for two reasons: first, I love open source projects, and second, this community seams to be very active. So here are questions, to see if any of you can help me.

I am starting a pilot project on a cold chamber where meat is stored at a specific temperature (roughly -10 degrees). Here, I should install a set of sensors in order to measure three variables:

• Temperature (and humidity may be useful too)
  • Electric energy consumption of the chamber (currents, voltages, energy demand, etc)
  • Measuring the time when the door is open

I need to access to the data of those sensors remotely, so those sensors need to have the capability either to send their own data to a cloud server, either send the data to another “hub device” which is in charge of gathering all the information from the different sensors and send those data to a cloud server. For the cloud server, I was thinking to setup an Amazon Web Services server. The idea with the project is to perform some data analyticis over the data gathered in order to understand better the performance of the cold chamber: see variations of energy consumption with temperature settings, how the door opening may affect to the temperature, etc.

Pretty much this is the idea of the project. What I need from you guys is some guidance about how to start. For instance, what sensors providers should I use for my project? What models would works? Do you have any paper, blog entry, or wathever where somebody has done something similar? No need to say, the idea is to use OpenHAB set of tools in order to integrate all the sensors and data, so, the sensors that I use at this stage should be “compatible” or can be managed from OpenHAB.

Thanks in advance for your help,

JM

My physics is rusty; can you have humidity at below freezing temperatures?