HABPanel has no icon in top corner to configure

Hi, I’m new to openHAB and are just looking at all of the functions. I have managed to get a switch configured which is working perfect in Basic UI. So far so good.

I installed HABPanel UI via binding in PAPER UI. When I navigate to HABPanel I just get a black page with no icon in the top right corner. I have tried this is all browsers and its the same in all of them. I have uninstalled and reinstalled both openHAB and HABPanel. Checked permissions and owner of all openHAB folder and files in all locations openHAB is located in.

As everything so far as been exactly as in tutorials, I can only assume I’m doing something wrong. Can someone point me in the right direction please.

OS - Xbuntu 16.04

Hi,

I may be wrong but have you disabled the “lock Editing” flag so that you can modify Panels?

I don’t use the paper ui but via habmin I can go to Configuration -> Services -> UI and select HABPanel
There are then two options “Lock Editing” which needs to be false if you want to modify panels and “Initial Panel Configuration” in HABmin it shows explanations for each.

Kevin

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I have tried it with the lock on and off but still the same no icon - just black screen.

I have just loaded HADmin via paper ui. When I navigated to it I got a Error 500. Then I got a server off line popup message. I found the configuration icon in HADmin but this then brings a download icon. Is there a config fill that I’ve missed. I’m just playing at the moment, but from what I have read, it would seem HADPanel is what I’m looking for as a interface. I’m don’t mind how I configure it. But got to play before I finally decide

John

Hi John,

I will see if I can fire up a vm running the same Xbuntu version and install OH to see if I can help resolve this.

To help can you confirm if you installed OH manually or via the repository?

Kevin

Update:

So I have Just

• installed Xbuntu 16.04 in a Virtualbox VM