Hardware selection for beginner

Hi guys, hope it’s ok to start a new topic for me, I don’t want to hijack someone else topic.

To start simple, I want to start automating my home, and I’m a student so money is tight.
For the moment, and due to financial considerations I just want to start with heating. And just to make sure I am planing to start with 1 radiator and then extend to 3 or more.
Right now I’m using some digital TRV (cheap 15 euros ones from lidl) and last winter they saved me 200euros on the heating bill :smile:, that for me is a good reason to want some automation. Right now I have one in the living room and one in the bedroom. in the bathroom and hallway I still have mechanical ones.

What is mostly annoying for me is that I have to decided on a weekly schedule and stick to it or play with them on a daily basis. That is not fun as sometimes I get home late and they’ve started heating 3 hours in advance or even more.

That being said I looked around and decided that openHAB will suite me on the software side (at least for the beginning) as it offers a web gateway. I am sharing the public IP with a bunch of people and I can’t get direct access to my home router in any way (tried that), this is solved by my.openHAB form my understanding. which is nice…

Going on. As I mentioned, I only want to start with heating of one radiator (the bathroom one) so I can save some more money and at the same time learn openHAB.

I have a raspberry pi unused which I plan to use as a server. Planned to use it for OSMC but don’t need it for the moment.
As a student I was looking for the MAX! TRV.
my plan was to buy I cube and a TRV, a door contact and a eco/auto button as a test platform. But then I realized that the guys at ELV sell a bunch of automation stuff with different protocols, so I got stuck.