Having a Sitemap but How to Add Items?

Hi,

I just started recently with OpenHAB and yes, I am a newbie regarding this. But the docs did not bring any light here…

I create with the site builder UI a sitemap which I copied to ./sitemaps/LOCATION.sitemap. According to the log the sitemap is read and I can see it in my Basic UI.

On the paper UI I have several things already discovered and configured (mostly Enocean devices) and I can switch the (experimental) light on and off through PaperUI. Perfect so far.

But how do I tell the Basic UI (which shows the sitemap) which item is in which room? Soory, I do not get it here…

I thought I have to use the device ID or stuff like this. But where to add it? And what to add?

It is a little bit confusing, sorry for this.

Any hints here?

Thanks a lot!

/KNEBB

If you used the Site Builder, that is where you do that. Most of us edit the sitemap file(s) directly.

Well, I thought I use the HomeBuilder to create my site. And then edit the sitemap file to add the correct things/ items to the file.

But again: I have things in my PaperUI which I want to add to a room in my sitemap.

How to do this? (command line preferred) If not command line- HomeBuilder is not really useable as it appears to me it always creates a sitemap from scratch so I would have to re-build it every time when my smart home grows… I think this is not the way it is supposed to work…

Use site builder to create a sitemap once and then edit it on command line. Adding things and stuff… but again: how and where?

Thanks!

/KNEBB

Have you looked in the official documentation?

Well, I really did. But it does not explain how and where to add the things from PaperUI.

Ok, I will show you guys. In PaperUI I have a sensor for my window (called “Fensterschalter”):

In Basic UI I have my sitemap (which I configured through HomeBuilder):

where I can see the different Rooms and so on:

So in the wardrobe (Erdgeschoss- Garderobe) I have a door (“Tür”):